Apartheid Museum

The Pillars of the Constitution

Between 1994 and 1996 South Africa's first fully democratic parliament, sitting as the Constitutional Assembly, drew up South Africa's new constitution.

It contains guarantees of equality more extensive than anywhere else in the world. At its heart are seven fundamental values which are represented by the pillars in the first courtyard visitors encounter on arrival at the museum.

Quick Facts

  • In 1994 South Africa became a democracy.
  • South Africa’s new constitution was adopted in 1996.
  • At the heart of the constitution are seven fundamental values: democracy, equality, reconciliation, diversity, responsibility, respect and freedom.
  • Exterior 2

    Ready to explore the exhibition? Secure your spot by booking your ticket here!

    Permanent Exhibition